Protege Chattanooga Announces 2012-13 Class and Mentors

Protégé Chattanooga, a team-based mentor program for emerging leaders, recently announced its first annual class of protégés and mentors. A collaboration between the Young Professionals Association of Chattanooga (YPAC) and the Chattanooga Chamber of Commerce, Protégé Chattanooga is the first program of its kind in Chattanooga.

Vice President of Public Strategies at the Chattanooga Chamber, Rob Bradham, said, “The Chamber has been investing in growing community leaders for the last 26 years through our Leadership Chattanooga program. Now, we are pleased to partner with YPAC to create Protégé Chattanooga, a new leadership development program for young professionals.” He added, “We know our young professionals are the next generation of leaders for this community, and Protégé Chattanooga gives them the opportunity to learn from our current leaders in a way that is completely unique.”

The program will be held within a 9-month period beginning with an orientation and reception to be held at the Walden Club later this month.

YPAC President Cara Hicks said, “Young professionals have indicated a need for mentor relationships with established professionals in order to grow as emerging leaders in their business and community. Protégé Chattanooga is designed to meet this need by connecting young professionals with accomplished Chattanooga leaders in order to facilitate mentor relationships and opportunities.”

Protégé Chattanooga 2012-2013 mentors include:

  • Ted Alling, Co-Founder and CEO of Access America Transport;
  • Julie Baumgardner, President and Executive Director of First Things First;
  • Rose Decosimo, Assurance Principal at Decosimo;
  • Harold DePriest, President and CEO of EPB;
  • Craig Holley, Chairman, President and CEO of Capital Mark Bank & Trust;
  • Michael St. Charles, Shareholder with Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel;
  • Michael Walden, President of Walden Security.

Protégé Chattanooga 2012-2013 protégés include:

  • Lynn Brown, Suntrust Bank;
  • James Chapman, Southeast Tennessee Development District;
  • Katie Ann Downs, TVA;
  • Shannon Edmondson, Public Education Foundation;
  • James Hobbs, Weill & Long, PLLC;
  • Zach Hutcherson, Henderson Hutcherson & McCullough;
  • Emily Job, Lattimore Black Morgan & Cain;
  • Danielle Rhones, EPB.