2014 YP Awards Winners Announced

Chattanooga, Tenn. (Feb. 21)—The Young Professionals Association of Chattanooga (YPAC) hosted its seventh-annual YP Awards program today at the Chattanoogan.

This year’s winners in each category are:

*Click each award category to view bios of each finalist.


Young Professional of the Year (tie)
Hodgen Mainda, Dale Buchanan & Associates
Matthew Richman, Debo’s Diners

YP-Friendly Business of the Year
Access America Transport

YP Entrepreneur(s) of the Year
Dan Rose & Max Poppel, The Crash Pad/Flying Squirrel

YP Corporate Innovator of the Year
Elizabeth Hammitt, EPB

YPAC Civic Impact Award
Heather Jones, Northside Neighborhood House


The organization’s board of directors identified 26 finalists across five award categories after reviewing the results of an open call for nominations in January. Final scores were tallied from three components: online polling, community committee votes and selections by the board of directors.

“Our list of finalists and winners at this year’s YP Awards was extremely diverse, and I think that really showcases what YPAC is all about,” said Sarah Basel, special events coordinator for YPAC. “We are so grateful to all of our sponsors, members and other supporters in the community who allow us to recognize the fantastic accomplishments of Chattanooga’s young professionals.”

Event sponsors include presenting sponsor Derryberry Public Relations, event sponsor Solid Rock Systems, YPAC Platinum Sponsor TransCard, and YPAC Gold Sponsors Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union and EPB Fiber Optics.